OLGA

Prospects for sustainable land use and regional value creation in the Dresden region

From 25.04. to 05.05.2022, four focus groups under the above title will take place as part of the OLGA project. Here we tell you about the people who met at the four locations, what motivation and topics they brought with them and what processes these dialogue events have triggered in the region.

Focus group "Promoting biodiversity through the cultivation of agricultural wood systems - unrealistic or feasible?"

On 25th of April 2022, stakeholders from administration, agriculture, science and civil society met in Tharandt and jointly considered how agricultural wood structures can be designed in a way that promotes biodiversity while still remaining economically viable for the farmer. What political, financial, technical and perhaps also social framework conditions are needed for this?

Agricultural wood structures are special forms of agroforestry systems that focus on fast-growing tree species such as poplar or willow. They are usually cultivated in rows or over a wide area, and after a certain rotation period they are cut down and, among other things, processed into wood chips and burned for heat production.

For the integration of semi-natural hedges, shrubs, mixed tree species, flowering strips and other elements to promote biodiversity in the agrowood system, the harvesting technology, i.e. the machinery etc., must also be adapted accordingly, which is viewed critically by some farmers due to the additional costs incurred. What is the point if the yield does not cover my expenses?

In order to increase the supply of agricultural wood and correspondingly cultivated structures on arable land in the Dresden region, the entire value chain from cultivation to harvesting, processing and distribution must be considered. First and foremost, it is a question of economic efficiency, and only then does one think about biodiversity. Unless there is support for agroforestry or agrowood, which at € 60/ha is not yet very lucrative for farmers. For the next CAP 27+, it is already time to make sensible and well-founded proposals for the integration of agroforestry with all its environmental services into the support catalogue. This also requires a rethinking of the agricultural control and accounting system, which should much more consider and appreciate multifunctional land use systems that provide both value and energy wood as well as fruits, at the same time protect against erosion, bind CO2, provide shade and retent water on the field and on top of that also promote biodiversity.

Focus group "Sustainable land use along watercourses through agrowood structures"

Interested stakeholders from administration and practice met at the Weidegut Colmnitz, which is situated directly at one of the study areas of the OLGA project at the Wiesengrundbach, to discuss possibilities of how multifunctional and ecologically valuable agroforestry structures in combination with other woody plants can become an accepted component of renaturation measures at the edge of watercourses. What role does the EU Water Framework Directive play in this context and where are there already pioneering projects that politicians, administrators and land users in Saxony can use as a guide when implementing agrowood structures along watercourses?

In the end, all participants of the OLGA focus group agreed: The integration of agroforestry structures in combination with other woody plants in the riparian strip is possible and makes sense in a near-natural and multifunctional system. Crucial for initiating such development processes is communication at eye level between agriculture, water protection and nature conservation. If no compromises can be found here, the entire project is in danger of collapsing.

The interest and motivation for the cultivation of agrowood structures and its utilisation must come from the farmer or landowner himself. For this, well communicable demo projects are needed, which can show the potentials but also the challenges of such a structure, including the topics of planting, (technical) management and maintenance, value creation and the contribution of these structures to climate adaptation, soil revitalisation, erosion control and biodiversity. In addition, for the new CAP from 2027 onwards, there needs to be a separate funding guideline for the implementation of agroforestry systems with lucrative funding rates for the farmer.

Through a practice area of agroforestry in the riparian strip of smaller water courses in the OLGA project and through various practice-relevant actions for farmers, politics and administration in the Dresden region, we will try to communicate the advantages of this form of land use in the region in the hope that land owners and farmers will discover agroforestry for themselves. Not least because of the current economic and political circumstances!

Focus group "Regional pulses for the local food industry"

What value do pulses actually have for human nutrition? Legumes (= pulses), which until now have mostly been grown for animal feed production, are experiencing a renaissance as a protein supplier and substitute for meat products. We brought together stakeholders from the food industry and looked at the value chains for legumes such as lupin, field bean, pea and soy. Where are producers still missing, where are buyers? Who could cooperate with whom to improve an existing product or bring a new product to the food market? How can the acceptance of pulses as healthy, regional and sustainable food be increased? These are just some of the questions we discussed at the OLGA focus group.

It needs to be a creative, appealing and sexy product - via the packaging, the design, the quality of the food itself and ultimately the unforgettable taste experience so that people buy it once and again. So how can products with legumes be communicated and marketed more successfully so that they get out of their niche and the legume market in human nutrition picks up speed in the Dresden region and in Saxony?

Many legumes are already cultivated in Saxon agriculture, but so far they have mostly been grown for animal feed and often as catch crops. Here it is important to get an overview of which farmers grow which legumes in order to be able to quantify the approximate quantity purchased per year. The processing of many legumes, which have to be dried and peeled before they can be processed into edible food, is still a challenge. Many farms lack the machinery. These could be shared in the form of cooperations or the lack of technology could be compensated for by mobile formats, such as a soy toaster.

It is important that the actors along the entire value chain, e.g. for lupine, know about each other - from production via processing to marketing. In Dresden and the region, there need to be more places where these people can come together, test products together, cook, taste and talk to each other - e.g. in the context of food and cook events etc.. Finally, food and product research should not be missing here either. In Dresden there are already numerous food start-ups that are open towards the development of products with legumes. There are already good approaches. More effort and cooperation is needed to establish various products with legumes on the regional market. Heike and Matthias Quendt from Quendt Food Innovation have already developed their mini-meals with legume dough and are trying to bring them to consumers via Saxon bakeries. The organic shops in Dresden, the Verbrauchergemeinschaft Dresden or Marktschwärmer could also be potential buyers of the products. OLGA will continue to support this process and strives for an implementation project together with the practical partners.

Focus group "Vegetable pool 3.0 - Access zu land for growing regional food"

The conclusion of the focus group series "Perspectives for sustainable land use and regional value creation in the Dresden region" we celebrated on 05.05.2022 at Heynitz Castle, the cradle of organic agriculture in Saxony. Stakeholders from agriculture, (land) administration, regional planning and nature conservation exchanged ideas on how more land could be used for regional food. How could smaller farms in particular, which want to cultivate the land ecologically and sustainably but have only limited financial resources, gain better access to land.

Competition for land is greater than ever before. A lot of land in Saxony is also used for export, the production of animal feed (delicious legumes!) and bioenergy. When it comes to the allocation of land, people are often powerless. Terms such as "share deals" - land share purchases by non-farming investors who have a larger share of the land market in Germany under their control - and "right of first refusal" were mentioned in the focus group. All developments that make it impossible for the "small farmer" to participate equally in the competition for affordable land. Nevertheless, there are some initial success stories in Saxony, such as the voluntary leasing of land from a Saxon agricultural cooperative to a solidarity farming initiative (SoLawi in German) that is in the process of being founded, or the reorganisation of the leasing criteria of the City of Leipzig in favour of sustainable, climate-adapted cultivation.

But once there is access to land, there also needs to be people to cultivate it. A major problem today and in the future is the recruitment of young people in agriculture and horticulture. New incentives and attractive training opportunities are needed for young people or people who want to retrain. A SoLawi in the Dresden area is currently fortunate to have committed, trained gardeners among its members, who tend and care for the fruits on the one-hectare field. Without them it would not work.

In Dresden there are now and in the future even more abandoned nursery sites that could be wonderfully used for growing vegetables for the SoLawis in the neighbourhood and for other agricultural projects in urban areas. But the owners do not want to give up their land for various reasons. The networking of land owners and tenants - in the form of a digital land exchange or a regular citizens' get-together for direct personal exchange - were ideas that were shared at the focus group.

As with the other focus groups, good examples are needed of how access to land can be created, sustainably managed and, if necessary, how several uses can be combined. Right next to the castle, there is the possibility of setting up a demonstration area for sustainable land management, e.g. in the form of an agroforestry system, and involving the citizens of Heynitz in the planning and implementation. Discussions on feasibility and implementation of this potential future action will take place in the coming weeks.

OLGA

Perspektiven für nachhaltige Landnutzung und regionale Wertschöpfung in der Region Dresden

Vom 25.04. bis 05.05.2022 finden im Rahmen des Projektes OLGA vier Fokusgruppen unter dem oben genannten Titel statt. Wir erzählen an dieser Stelle von den Menschen, die sich an den vier Standorten getroffen, welche Motivation und Themen sie mitgebracht und welche Prozesse diese Dialogveranstaltungen in der Region angestoßen haben.

Fokusgruppe "Förderung der Biodiversität durch den Anbau von Agrarholz - unrealistisch oder umsetzbar?"

Am 25. April 2022 trafen sich in Tharandt Akteure aus Verwaltung, Landwirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft und überlegten gemeinsam, wie Agrarholzstrukturen Biodiversität fördernder angelegt werden aber trotzdem noch wirtschaftlich bleiben können für den Landwirt. Welche politischen, finanziellen, technischen und vielleicht auch gesellschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen braucht es dafür?

Agrarholzsysteme sind spezielle Formen von Agroforstsystemen, bei denen schnellwachsende Baumarten, wie Pappel oder Weide, im Fokus stehen. Sie werden meist in Reihen oder flächig angebaut und nach einer gewissen Umtriebszeit abgeholzt und u. a. zu Hackschnitzeln weiterverarbeitet und zur Wärmegewinnung verbrannt.

Für die Integration von naturnahen Hecken, Sträuchern, die Mischung von Baumarten, Blühstreifen und anderen Elementen zur Förderung der biologischen Vielfalt im Bereich des Agrarholzsystems muss auch die Erntetechnik, d. h. die Maschinen etc., entsprechend angepasst werden, was von manchen Landwirten aufgrund der zusätzlich anfallenden Kosten kritisch gesehen wird. Was bringt das mir, wenn der Ertrag nicht meinen Aufwand deckt?

Zur Erhöhung des Angebotes an Agrarholz und entsprechend angebauten Strukturen auf Ackerland in der Region Dresden müsse die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette vom Anbau über die Ernte, Verarbeitung bis zum Vertrieb mitgedacht werden. In erster Linie gehe es um die Wirtschaftlichkeit, erst danach denke man an die Biodiversität. Es sei denn, es gibt eine Förderung für Agroforst bzw. Agrarholz, die bisher mit 60 €/ha noch nicht sehr lukrativ für die Landwirte darstellt. Für die nächste GAP 27+ ist es schon jetzt an der Zeit, sinnvolle und fundierte Vorschläge für die Integration der Agroforstwirtschaft mit all ihren Umweltleistungen in den Förderkatalog zu machen. Dafür ist auch eine Umdenken im Rahmen des landwirtschaftlichen Kontroll- und Abrechnungssystems nötig, welche multifunktionale Landnutzungssysteme berücksichtigen, die sowohl Wert- und Energieholz als auch Früchte bringen, gleichzeitig vor Erosion schützen, CO2 binden, Schatten spenden, die Feuchtigkeit auf dem Acker halten und obendrein auch noch die Biodiversität fördern.

Fokusgruppe "Nachhaltige Landnutzung an Fließgwässern durch Agrarholzstrukturen"

Im Weidegut Colmnitz direkt an einer der Untersuchungsflächen des OLGA-Projektes am Wiesengrundbach trafen sich Interessierte aus Verwaltung und Praxis, um über Möglichkeiten zu beraten, wie multifunktional und im Verbund mit anderen Gehölzen naturnah angelegte Agrarholzstrukturen akzeptierter Bestandteil von Renaturierungsmaßnahmen am Fließgewässerrand werden können. Welche Rolle spielt dabei die EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie und wo gibt es schon Vorreiterprojekte, an denen sich Politik, Verwaltung und letztendlich die Landnutzer in Sachsen bei der Umsetzung von Agrarholzstrukturen am Fließgewässer orientieren können?

Am Ende waren sich eigentlich alle Teilnehmer:innen der OLGA Fokusgruppe einig: Die Integration von Agrarholzstrukturen in Kombination mit anderen Gehölzen im Gewässerrandstreifen ist möglich und bei einer naturnahen und multifunktionalen Anlage auch sinnvoll. Ausschlaggebend für die Initiierung solcher Entwicklungsprozesse ist eine Kommunikation auf Augenhöhe zwischen Landwirtschaft, Gewässerschutz und Naturschutz. Wenn hier keine Kompromisse gefunden werden können, droht das gesamte Vorhaben zu platzen.

Das Interesse und die Motivation für den Anbau von Agrarholz und dessen Verwertung muss vom Landwirt oder Flächeneigentümer selbst kommen. Dafür brauche es gut kommunizierbare Demoprojekte, welche die Potenziale aber auch die Herausforderungen einer solchen Struktur unter Einbezug der Themen Anlage, (technische) Bewirtschaftung und Pflege, Wertschöpfung und der Beitrag dieser Strukturen zu Klimaanpassung, Bodenrevitalisierung, Erosionsschutz und biologische Vielfalt haben können. Außerdem brauche es für die neue GAP ab 2027 eine eigene Förderrichtlinie für die Umsetzung von Agroforstsystemen mit lukrativen Fördersätzen für den Landwirt.

Durch eine Praxisfläche Agrarholz am Gewässerrand im Projekt OLGA und durch verschiedene praxisrelevante Aktionen für Landwirte, Politik und Verwaltung in der Region Dresden werden wir versuchen, die Vorteile dieser Landnutzungsform in die Region zu kommunizieren in der Hoffnung, dass Flächenbesitzer und Landwirte den Agroforstwirtschaft für sich entdecken. Nicht zuletzt aufgrund der aktuellen wirtschaftlichen und politischen Gegebenheiten!

Fokusgruppe "Regionale Hülsenfrüchte für die lokale Ernährungsbranche"

Welchen Wert haben eigentlich Hülsenfrüchte für die menschliche Ernährung? Die bisher meist für die Tierfutterproduktion angebauten Leguminosen (= Hülsenfrüchte) erfahren als Proteinlieferant und Fleischersatz eine Renaissance. Wir haben Akteure aus der Ernährungswirtschaft zusammengebracht und uns die Wertschöpfungsketten für Leguminosen wie Lupine, Ackerbohne, Erbse und Soja angeschaut. Wo fehlen noch Erzeuger:innen, wo Abnehmer:innen? Wer könnte mit wem kooperieren, um ein bestehendes Produkt zu verbessern bzw. ein neues Produkt auf den Food Markt zu bringen? Wie kann die Akzeptanz von Hülsenfrüchten als gesunde, regionale und nachhaltige Lebensmittel gesteigert werden? Dies sind nur einige wenige Fragen, die wir bei der OLGA Fokusgruppe besprochen haben.

Es brauche ein kreatives, ansprechendes und sexy Produkt - über die Verpackung, das Design, die Qualität des Lebensmittels an sich und letztendlich das unvegessliches Geschmackserlebnis, damit Leute es einmal und wieder kaufen. Wie können also Produkte mit Hülsenfrüchten erfolgreicher kommuniziert und vermarktet werden, damit sie aus ihrer Nische rauskommen und der Leguminosen-Markt im Bereich der menschlichen Ernährung an Fahrt aufnimmt in der Region Dresden und in Sachsen?

In der sächsischen Landwirtschaft werden schon viele Hülsenfrüchte angebaut, die aber bisher meist zur Verfütterung an die Tiere und oft als Zwischenfrucht angebaut werden. Hier sei es wichtig, einen Überblick zu bekommen, welche Landwirte welche Leguminosen anbauen, um die ungfähre Abnahmemenge pro Jahr beziffern zu können. Herausforderungen seien immer noch die Verarbeitungsprozesse für viele Leguminosen, die getrocknet und geschält werden müssen, um dann weiter zu genießbaren Lebensmitteln verarbeitet zu werden. Vielen Betrieben fehlen die Maschinen. Diese könnten in Form von Kooperationen geteilt oder der Mangel an Technik durch mobile Formate, wie z. B. einen Soja-Toaster, kompensiert werden.

Wichtig sei, dass die Akteure entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette, z. B. für die Lupine, voneinander wissen - von der Erzeugung über die Verarbeitung bis zur Vermarktung. In Dresden und Region brauche es mehr Orte, wo diese Menschen zusammenkommen, Produkte gemeinsam testen, kochen, schmecken, miteinander ins Gespräch kommen können - z. B. im Rahmen von Food and Cook Events etc.. Letzendlich dürfe auch hier die Lebensmittel- und Produktforschung nicht fehlen. In Dresden gäbe es schon zahlreiche Food Start Up's, die der Entwicklung von Produkten mit Leguminosen positiv gegenüber stünden. Es gäbe auch schon gute Ansätze. Es brauche noch mehr Anstrengung und Kooperation, um diverse Produkte mit Hülsenfrüchten am regionalen Markt zu etablieren. Heike und Matthias Quendt von der Quendt Food Innovation haben ihre Mini-Mahlzeiten mit Leguminosen-Teig schon entwickelt und versuchen diese, über sächsische Bäckereien an die Konsument:innen zu bringen. Ebenso könnten die Bio-Läden in Dresden, die Verbrauchergemeinschaft Dresden oder auch Marktschwärmer potenzielle Abnehmer der Produkte sein. OLGA wird diesen Prozess weiter unterstützen und dahingehend ein Umsetzungsprojekt zusammen mit den Praxispartnern überlegen.

Fokusgruppe "Gemüsepool 3.0 - Flächensicherung für regionale Ernährung"

Den krönenden Abschluss der Fokusgruppen-Reihe "Perspektiven nachhaltiger Landnutzung und regionaler Wertschöpfung in der Region Dresden" feierten wir am 05.05.2022 auf Schloss Heynitz, der Wiege des Ökolandbaus in Sachsen. Akteure aus Landwirtschaft, (Flächen-)Verwaltung, Regionalplanung und Naturschutz tauschten sich über Möglichkeiten aus, wie mehr Fläche für regionale Ernährung genutzt werden könnte. Wie könnten vor allem kleinere landwirtschaftliche Betriebe, die das Land ökologisch und nachhaltig bewirtschaften wollen aber nur über geringe finanzielle Mittel verfügen, besser Zugang zu Fläche bekommen.

Die Konkurrenz um Fläche sei so groß wie nie zuvor. Viel Land gehe auch in Sachsen für den Export, die Produktion von Tierfutter (leckere Hülsenfrüchte!) und Bioenergie drauf. Bei der Vergabe von Land sei man oft machtlos. Begriffe wie „Share Deals“ - das sind Landanteilskäufe von landwirtschaftsfremden Investoren, die den Bodenmarkt in Deutschland zu einem größeren Anteil im Griff haben - und „Vorkaufsrecht“ fielen in der Fokusgruppe. Alles Entwicklungen, welche es dem „kleinen Landwirt“ unmöglich mache, am Wettbewerb um bezahlbares Land gleichberechtigt teilzuhaben. Trotzdem gebe es auch erste Erfolgsgeschichten in Sachsen, wie die freiwillige Verpachtung von Ländereien einer sächsischen Agrargenossenschaft an eine sich in Gründung befindende SoLawi oder die Umgestaltung der Pachtkriterien der Stadt Leipzig zugunsten einer nachhaltigen, klimaangepassten Bewirtschaftung.

Doch wenn erstmal Zugang zu Land da sei, brauche es auch die Leute, die es bewirtschaften. Ein großes Problem heute und in Zukunft sei nämlich die Nachwuchsgewinnung in Landwirtschaft und Gartenbau. Hier brauche es neue Anreize und attraktive Bildungsangebote für junge Leute oder auch Menschen, die umschulen wollen. Eine SoLawi im Raum Dresden hat im Moment das Glück, unter ihren Mitglieder:innen engagierte ausgebildete Gärtner:innen zu haben, die auf dem 1 ha-Feld die Früchte hegen und pflegen, welche später auf die Anteile verteilt werden. Ohne die würde es nicht gehen.

In Dresden gibt es heute und in Zukunft noch mehr aufgegebene Gärtnerei-Standorte, die wunderbar genutzt werden könnten für die Anzucht von Gemüse u. a. für die SoLawis in der Umgebung und für weitere landwirtschaftliche Projekte im urbanen Raum. Doch die Eigentümer wollen aus verschiedenen Gründen ihr Land nicht hergeben. Die Vernetzung von Landeigemtümer:innen und Pächter:innen - in Form einer digitalen Landbörse oder eines regelmäßigen Bürger:innen-Stammtisches zum direkten persönlichen Austausch waren Ideen, die bei der Veranstaltung geteilt wurden.

Wie bei den anderen Fokusgruppen auch brauche es auch hier gute Beispiele, wie Zugang zu Land geschaffen, nachhaltig und ggf. mehrere Nutzungen kombinierend bewirtschaftet werden kann. Gleich neben dem Schloss gebe es die Möglichkeit, eine Demo-Fläche für nachhaltige Landbewirtschaftung, z. B. in Form eines Agroforstsystems, anzulegen und bei der Planung und Umsetzung auch die Heynitzer Bürger:innen miteinzubeziehen. Hier werden in den nächsten Wochen Gespräche bzgl. Machbarkeit und Umsetzung dieses potenziellen Pilot-Projektes stattfinden.